Set Current Location
|Monday to Friday||08:30 AM to 05:00 PM|
The highlights of the Archäologisches Museum, housed in the former Carmelite Church, are archaeological finds from Frankfurt and the Rhine-Main region. Excavations are analyzed, restored and exhibited to the public. The prehistoric section shows objects from the Stone, Bronze and Iron Ages. The contents of the Roman section originate mainly from the Roman town of 'Nida' (the Roman name for Frankfurt), and give an interesting insight into the everyday life of an ancient town. The section entitled 'The Early Middle Ages' offers an overview of the city in the Alemannian and Frankish times, after the Romans left. Visitors find out more about the Stone Age in the section entitled 'Franconofurd - the beginnings of Frankfurt-am-Main'. In the modern extension there are archaeological collections from the Mediterranean and the Near East dating from the 5th-1st centuries B.C. This consists mainly of ancient vases, bronzes, glass and stone sculptures.
Situated in the Carmelite Monastery, the heritage preserved in the Institute of Local History is immensely impressive. The wealth of documentation going back to the early Middle Ages makes it one of the most important archives in Germany. You can find an extensive collection of files, deeds, books, maps, photographs,folders of documentation on individuals and topics and a library, where about 50,000 tomes are assembled. The institute's preserves the city's heritage, making it accessible to the public. The 'Old Archive' includes Medieval and Early Modern records of the city council, its institutions and associations. The 'Modern Files' section contains documentation relating to life in the city since 1866. Finally, the documentation section houses everything worthy of keeping for posterity. There are regular exhibitions, guided tours, lectures and publications. Check website for more details.
Located on Bethmannstrasse, amidst a row of buildings, Bethmannhof building is home to the Bethmann Bank. This splendid historical structure is nestled in Frankfurt's Innenstadt neighborhood. Apart from housing the bank, Bethmannhof is now used for various organized events.
The house where Goethe was born on August 28, 1749, is a fine example of how the affluent lived in the late Baroque era. In 1733, Goethe's family acquired two neighboring half-timbered houses in Großen Hirschgraben. The family sold the property in 1795, by which time Goethe himself had already moved to Weimar. It is also worth taking a trip to the adjoining Goethe Museum, which was renovated and contains both a library and a bookshop. The house itself is a reconstruction of the original which was destroyed during World War II.
The spectacular facade of St.Paul's Church is a landmark and also a unique anomaly in Frankfurt. Paulskirche (St. Paul's Church) became famous not as a church, but as a meeting place. Built to replace the Barfüßerkirche, it was opened in 1833. The first freely-elected German parliament sat here in 1848. It met 99 times and passed 59 articles which are still part of the German constitution today. Destroyed in an air-raid in 1944, the church was rebuilt immediately after World War II as a memorial to the aftermath of war. The hall is now a venue for important events such as the annual German Peace Prize ceremony and the City of Frankfurt's Goethe Prize awards.
The beautiful, decadent Kaisersaal in the Römer City Hall stands as the building's largest draw. It's the home to a great many 19th-century paintings and as the name suggests houses the paintings of the German kings of the Holy Roman Empire. Back in the day, the room hosted coronation banquets. Today, the room is often used for hosting important events and festivities. Its stunning blend of Gothic and Medieval Romantic architecture lend it an aura of mystery and elegance.
Steadily changing exhibitions and programs with and for children; one can also take part.
The Alte Nikolaikirche (Old Nikolai Church) can be found in the southern section of Frankfurt's Römerberg for centuries. Initially designed as a chapel for the neighboring Stauferpfalz Palace, the church was later used for mass and prayer by the town council. In the 15th Century, the building underwent changes and the watchtower was made higher to enable watchmen to signal to ships on the river from the top of the tower. Members of the council could also watch the festivities on the Römerberg from the extended rooftop. A hundred years later, this place of worship was turned into a warehouse and silo. Today, the facade of the late Gothic, doubled-naved church is painted in its original colors of white and red.