Set Current Location
The New Haven Town Green is one of New England's oldest, completed in 1638. Portions of the Green were used as a cemetery until the 1820s when the headstones were moved to the new Grove Street Cemetery. The 16-acre public park is a popular site for concerts and picnics, and an overall excellent gathering place for locals and tourists alike. The Green is also the location of an Amistad memorial. Along the Green there are three churches built in the 1810s: Center Church, United Church and Trinity Church.
This formidable structure on the New Haven Green was designed in 1908 by architect Cass Gilbert to blend in with the churches on the green. The handsome facade with its soaring columns and enormous windows bestows upon the visitor a gracious place to read and research. Gilbert is one of the most famous architects of the early 20th-century United States. Perhaps his best-known work is the Woolworth Building in New York City.
One of the most renowned institutions of higher learning in the world, the Yale University has been in New Haven since 1718, while its collegiate school had already been established by 1701. Since inception, its campus has been a dream revered by many aspiring learners, and it continues to shine on the educational horizons of ambitious students across the world. A distinguished embodiment of academic prowess, the Ivy League institution has produced more than 50 Nobel laureates over the centuries. . Many notable people call Yale their Alma Mater, including William Howard Taft, Bill Clinton, and Meryl Streep. On campus, one can effortlessly spot many famous sights such as the prestigious Yale Center for British Art, the Beinecke Rare Book Library, the Collection of Musical Instruments, and the Old Campus that allures students and visitors, alike. The university is home to the illustrious multiple championship-winning NCAA Division I Yale Bulldogs athletic team.
The Congregational United Church of Christ, as it is more formally known, has stood on the New Haven Green since 1639. The current Georgian structure dates to 1812. Architect Ithiel Town incorporated large windows into the design to capture sunshine, as there was no heating system. A beautiful Tiffany window, installed in 1890, depicts the Rev. John Davenport leading the first service in the new colony. The historic crypt contains the remains of Benedict Arnold's first wife. There is a small burial ground behind the church, where regicide John Dixwell is laid to rest.
Nestled in the Yale University Campus, Battell Chapel was built in the late 19th Century and is one of the largest chapels on campus. The chapel boasts of beautiful Victorian Gothic style of architecture and was designed by Russell Sturgis, a famed architect of the country. This chapel has gone several renovations and sees architectural elements by Josiah Cleaveland Cady. The interiors of this charming chapel include a beautiful altar, chapel clock with five bells, an apse, magnificent stained-glass windows and more. Besides being a religious place, the chapel is also used as an event venue and hosts several concerts and music events regularly.
This 14-foot, three sided bronze relief was erected in 1992 to commemorate the the captives of the Amistad and their incredible story. The sculpture stands on the site of the former jail in which they were imprisoned, and depicts Senghe Pieh (better known as Joseph Cinque), the leader of the revolt that started their amazing journey. The three sides of the relief depict the three parts of his story, from before his capture, to his trial, and finally home again.
It never ceases to amaze visitors and even locals that New Haven is a city of firsts. Trinity, besides being the first Episcopal congregation in New Haven when it was founded in 1752, also erected the first Gothic Revival building in the United States in 1812-15. Designed by prolific Ithiel Town, who also designed the neighboring Center Church), Trinity is a superb example of medieval architecture, and has been a tourist attraction almost since it was built. It stands on the northwest corner of the historic green.